Threat Shark Summer – Playlist 28

23 Aug

Ok, since this one is the second I’m doing this week and I’m ramping up for school I’m gonna keep it short. My time up in Fort McMurray is coming to a close, school starts in about two weeks and it actually takes a little bit of effort to put this together each week, to be honest.

With that in mind…this playlist has nothing to do with any of that. In fact, no theme. So let’s jump in.

WELCOME! To Jurrasic Pa-…er, THREAT SHARK 28!

  1. Inlet Sound Thanks Sally from the album Demo EP
    A newer band I don’t really know a lot about, these guys are in the midst of releasing their first full length album. It should be out in October, and it should be interesting to see what they can produce with some proper time and production behind them. While the track Magnetic North is getting a little more attention I like the softer side represented here.
  2. Plants and Animals Lightshow from the album The End of That
    I’m a little surprised we haven’t played more Plants and Animals. Definitely a talented band in the top echelon of Candian indie in my opinion, these guys put on a great show. As one of the many English language groups from Montreal’s scene right now I think we can safely call the city a hot bed of talent.
  3. Jeremy Fisher On My Mind from the album Mint Juleps
    Fisher seems to be siting right on the cusp of something. I find some of his songs bland, but others break through to something more, and most are fun. He’s got a couple brilliant music videos as well. This is off his 5th album, Mint Juleps.
  4. Mike O’Neill She Believes In Me from the album The Owl
    Fellow Fort Mac Todayian Trevor Howlett passed this guy on to me. The multi-talented O’Neil is apparently a fairly respected guy on the east coast, and it’s times like this I wish there was a better exchange of music across the country. I’d never heard of him, and only barely recognized his former band, the Inbreds, a big band in Canada’s 90’s indie scene. You may know him better as Thomas Collins (Tom Collins?) white trash super show The Trailer Park Boys.
  5. The Inbreds White Caps from the album Winning Hearts
    And this would be the crew O’Neil helped flounder, the Inbreds, a couple buoys who started off in Ontario and then went east to Halifax. For those a little foggy with white caps, that’s an ocean-y term for some rougher waves, capped with white sea foam (which always boathered me, since the colour “sea foam” isn’t the colour I remember sea foam being). But that’s not important, what’s masterful is the freighter full of maritime language in this shanty. Just like this entry.
  6. Rococode Death Of A Payphone from the album Guns, Sex & Glory
    A little more Rococode.. Maybe if I write about them enough they’ll pop up to Kamloops. Anywho, a great song which includes plenty about a subject slowly disappearing, pay phones. What do they even cost anymore?
  7. The Slakadeliqs Call Me Your Friend (feat. Sandie Black) from the album The Other Side of Tomorrow
    This has to be a part of a commercial right now. It’s got that catchy beat perfect for a 30 second spot selling me a Camry or something. Maybe a phone company, the sing “call me” a lot. A perfect summer song for the patios as we watch the sun get lazy.
  8. Dearly Beloved Living Proof from the album Hawk vs Pigeon
    Ok, so we’re really bringing the energy here. I have to figure this would be a great song to see live in a mid-size venue, like Sugar in Victoria (I know I’m being island-centric with that statement, but I’m not sure of similar venues outside of Vic).
  9. You Say Party Downtown Mayors Goodnight, Alley Kids Rule! from the album Lose All Time
    And right after Dearly Beloved play, You Say Party can take the stage. Great cardio after that show. These guys are just a great party band, so much energy.
  10. Kinnie Starr Superclever from the album Sun Again
    A genre we haven’t hit much, mostly because it’s fairly small, is female hip hop. Kinnie Starr is a star of the genre, especially in Canada. Outspoken and an interesting person, she’s got a unique voice in the industry, which is greatly needed.

Ok, short this week, probably next week as well, but change is in the air, along with plenty of commas, if you’re ok with that, though it doesn’t really matter since it’s our blog.

Later,
Kergin

Leave a comment