Threat Shark A/V: 1 and 1 #6

6 Oct

A bit of a taste of Asia this week, including a bonus track (which you’ve probably seen). Gonna keep it short this time.

 

I think MIA is awesome. Just going to put that out there. Also, it takes a lot to offend me or disturb me, when it comes to fictional depictions on screen. Born Free is not a friendly video to watch with your kids. It’s pretty dramatic, but it makes an excellent point. I have to add that, stylistically, this is right my alley. The muted colours, the not-too-shakey-but-still-mobile camera work, that’s all stuff I like. And, of course, a political message I agree with (no, it’s not saying go beat up gingers, it’s anti-genocide, you nit).

 

A forward to the next two videos. They are from Korea. However, that cultural region has been split up for awhile, so one is from north, and one is from south. See if you can guess which is which.

____________________________

 

Yeah, ok, so the second one blew up this year summer, after I had originally picked it, but the craziness is pretty awesome. And when comparing it to the North Korean one, the cultural differences caused by the political systems each is a part of is pretty apparent. The girl in the the North Korean one (No, I won’t refer to it by it’s proper name until it actually is democratic) was rumoured to be going out with the leader of dear nation. Yep, she’s a top end celebrity there, singing about the duties of…laundry folding? I’m not usually so uppity when it comes to other cultures, but while the Kims lead North Korea, it’s lacking.

Buu-bye,
Brendan

Leave a comment