Threat Shark A/V: 1 and 1 #1

1 Sep

Ok, so this is going to be a new series in our Threat Shark Blog. As a big fan of short form videos I watch a lot of them. I’d like to share them with you. I’ll be pulling from around the globe and around the genres. There will be two categories. There will be videos I like a lot and think have a great execution or concept worthy of note (coupled with a song I at least respect). And there will be…other ones. Ones that are, insane or horrible, or laughable in someway that wasn’t necessarily intended by the producers. Sometimes they might just be odd ball.

In short, one good and one WTF?! That’ll give you the option of watching one or both, depending on mood or time limit.

Oh, and I’ll try to pull videos I don’t think people have seen, just a heads up in case you’re wondering where greats like Thriller, and flops like Friday, are.

So for the first week I’m going with:

Cuff the Duke’s “The Ballad of Poor John Henry”

Ok, so this is a bit of a hipster vid, but it’s a gem as well. I’m a fan of the sepia and old fashioned look, especially since it kinda fits the old-timey sound the band has with that twang in he guitar. The other reason I chose to share this is the competition. If you haven’t reached that part of the show, I won’t spoil it, but the cheesey acting and feel good nature mixed with this down-on-their-luck couple makes it a one of those little winner, imo.

And now for something completely different:

Nothing will prepare your brain for this, and I’m not sure if I can do much more than let you hit play…
The first 30 seconds are just brightly coloured. Wait until the chorus drops. There is no way to even begin to list all the bizarre things going on here, but I think the most disturbing for me is the one faceless back-up dancer. When you see it, you’ll know.

OK, I hope you won’t doing anything important, ’cause that second one may have caused permanent brain damage. If anyone can translate what she’s singing there, that might help? But I doubt it.

G’night,
Kergin

Leave a comment